Men, Women and God – Part 1

Men, Women and God – What is a man and a woman’s role in relation to each other and God according to Scripture? – Part 1

Something I have struggled with the last few years is a man’s role in relationship with his female counterpart. I have experienced relationships with women in a multitude of ways, Grandma’s, Mom’s, Sisters, Girlfriends, Friends and Co-workers. I will admit I have not always been perfect in my attitude towards women and at times I am sure a few of them have wanted to ring my neck for the way I treated them. With that all being said, there must be a good way for men and women to interact, regardless of what type of relationship they are in with each other. This week I will tackle the question of men and women’s relationships with each other and God, using the Bible as the go to reference book of choice.

First, let’s talk about the first two human beings created here on earth. Adam was created by God and then a rib was removed from his body to create Eve. This is interesting, because I have heard that women have more ribs than men. Is this physical evidence of the creation event? Anyhow Genesis 2 says that woman was created to help man, this was decided after no suitable help was found in the rest of the earthly creation (Genesis 2:18-25). This is the first indication of our relationship purpose; a man and woman were created to work together! Is this not a wonderful gift from God?!

More to come…

Darrell

Seven Steps to Freedom

Leave a comment