Jesus, Nativity and Mistletoe – What is the history of Christmas and how should it affect you? – Part 3

Jesus, Nativity and Mistletoe – What is the history of Christmas and how should it affect you? – Part 3

When I first started seriously asking questions about the Bible, God and Jesus, I received some answers I never expected and it has taken me years to develop my own view about Christ, His teachings and the Bible. And I will admit, I still do not have it all figured out… But one of the doctrines I have been fighting about with myself and family for the last few years is Christmas, whether or not it is Biblical and what to do about it. This week we will talk about the topic of Christmas, its history, what it means and what you can do about it, using the Bible as the go to reference book of choice…cont’d.

So we have those two truths and now, there are some who do not celebrate Christmas because of the knowledge of its ancient roots mentioned earlier. But what can we do about it? First, I do not believe there is any hard fast rule, Biblical or otherwise that we must celebrate Christmas to be a Christian. However, as I have learned one’s opinion and expressing it to others is two different things. So, how can we go about obeying God and Christ and get along with everyone else while doing it? Well, Proverbs 3:6 says, “In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” (KJV). With that being said, I will spend the last bit of this post talking about Christ and the miracle of His birth over 2000 years ago.

More to come…

Darrell

Seven Steps to Freedom

Leave a comment