Jesus, Nativity and Mistletoe – What is the history of Christmas and how should it affect you? – Part 4

Jesus, Nativity and Mistletoe – What is the history of Christmas and how should it affect you? – Part 4

When I first started seriously asking questions about the Bible, God and Jesus, I received some answers I never expected and it has taken me years to develop my own view about Christ, His teachings and the Bible. And I will admit, I still do not have it all figured out… But one of the doctrines I have been fighting about with myself and family for the last few years is Christmas, whether or not it is Biblical and what to do about it. This week we will talk about the topic of Christmas, its history, what it means and what you can do about it, using the Bible as the go to reference book of choice…cont’d.

Now, the majority of Christianity connects this time of year with Christ’s birth. So let’s talk about it… First, He was born of a virgin (Matthew 1:18). His mother almost was banished because of the fact that she was pregnant before she was actually married to Joseph (Matthew 1:19-25). Jesus was born in a barn, cannot get more humble beginnings than that (Luke 2:7). Joseph, Mary and young Jesus moved to Egypt for a time to get away from the evil Herod, who heard the prophecy that a king was to be born (Matthew 2:13-15). And last, at some point after Jesus’ birth, He was visited by the three wise men. And they confirmed His miraculous fulfillment of prophecy in the Old Testament and their understanding by bringing Him gifts to recognize His pre-eminence as a King (Matthew 2:1-11)! Not only that but the King of Kings! Our Lord and Saviour!

More to come…

Darrell

Seven Steps to Freedom

Leave a comment