Jesus, Nativity and Mistletoe – What is the history of Christmas and how should it affect you? – Part 5

Jesus, Nativity and Mistletoe – What is the history of Christmas and how should it affect you? – Part 5

When I first started seriously asking questions about the Bible, God and Jesus, I received some answers I never expected and it has taken me years to develop my own view about Christ, His teachings and the Bible. And I will admit, I still do not have it all figured out… But one of the doctrines I have been fighting about with myself and family for the last few years is Christmas, whether or not it is Biblical and what to do about it. This week we will talk about the topic of Christmas, its history, what it means and what you can do about it, using the Bible as the go to reference book of choice…cont’d.

Last, keep in your mind why you do the things you do, and why you celebrate the “feasts” you do. If there is a positive God given connection, then no harm no foul (Romans 14:4-5). If there are some negative connections you may have with this time of the year, address them and turn them into positives! It is only a couple of days at most out of the year. Make them joyful ones’. As the Bible says, “Rejoice in the Lord always” (Philippians 4:4)! And on a purely physical level, it is always a good idea to refrain from overindulgence of candy, food or alcohol for your health’s sake and with alcohol, the health of those around you, because of irresponsible driving. So as the saying goes, do your best to “keep Christ in Christmas” this year and in the years to come, until the whole world knows Christ reigns as King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

Darrell

Seven Steps to Freedom

Leave a comment