Murder, Death and Suicide – Part 1

Murder, Death and Suicide – What does the Bible say about it? – Part 1

All are affected by death, all ages and all demographics. As the Bible says, “We are all pronounced once to die” (Hebrews 9:27). I have been affected by death and suicidal thoughts…, especially during some of the most trying times in life, as a growing adolescent and into my young adulthood. And these thoughts are not unique to this generation, as the Bible says, “There is nothing new under the sun” (Ecclesiastes 1:9). So what are we to do about these types of thoughts and the topic of death in general? This week I will discuss the topic of death, using the Bible as the go to reference book of choice.

First, as I had said, I have struggled with thoughts of death at times in my years as an adolescent growing up and during my young adulthood. But are we alone in these thoughts compared to other “normal” people? Well in fact, there are a few stories in the Bible that mention a person’s struggle with death and suicidal thoughts. Job seems to be the first obvious one (Job 3:11). David also struggled with his existence as well (Psalm 22). And Jonah was so frustrated he asked for death because of it (Jonah 4:9). So if you are struggling with the “why” of your life, then trust me you are not alone…

More to come…

Darrell

Seven Steps to Freedom

Leave a comment