How does God view your failures? – Part 1

How does God view your failures? – Part 1

I have failed numerous times in life; more times than I care to count, but when I was younger I did not put much thought, if any of what God thought about it. That being said, I did care what others thought about me… Nevertheless, since I have had a more “aware” presence of God in my life, there have been times where I have or have been tempted to blame or accuse God for my failures. But as of late I have noticed something. Every time I have failed there has been a positive or blessing, almost immediately after that failure. What a gracious God we serve! This week I will talk about our failures using the Bible as the go to reference book of choice.

Jesus Christ never promised any of His followers that this life would be without trials (John 16:33). Actually, He said the exact opposite… He said that this life would have trials, tribulations and challenges (Matthew 10). He said that families would not always get along, that people would take advantage of each other, that there would be selfishness and that some of His followers would even be delivered up to be killed for their testimony of the gospel (Luke 21:16, 2 Peter 3:3, Jude 1:18)! At first thought, this may not sound like a God that anyone would like to follow, but to understand God and His purposes is to understand that this world and all that is in it are passing away (1 Cor. 7:31, 1 John 2:17). To understand God is to understand that this world is not our “final destination” (Philippians 3:20)!

More to come…

Darrell

Seven Steps to Freedom

Leave a comment