The Picts and the Aberlemno Stone – Part 2

Hello All, it has been a long while since I have written and my life circumstances have changed dramatically. I am currently in St. Joseph’s hospital in Hamilton being treated for schizophrenia. How is that for personal information. Nevertheless, this week and possibly some following I will talk about a few interesting research topics I was looking into before I got here. The first is the Picts and their stones. You can look into them at your leisure by searching the internet, but the stone I would like to speak of in particular is the Aberlemno Stone.

Next, let us talk about the possible meaning of the stone in more detail. The double discs could very well represent the two religious authorities during the Picts time about 600 A.D., the Egyptian, Greco-Roman mythologies in the south disc, and the Norse and Celtic religions in the northern disc. The serpent in the top left may represent the tribe of Dan and their earlier travels to the area of the British Isles (Gen. 49:17). And the what looks like a mirror and comb, in the bottom right may represent the Persian, Babylonian, etc. empires that amongst other things concerned themselves with imagery (Dan. 3:1-7).

Leave a comment